Five more MPs elected in HirShabelle as polls hit penultimate stretch

Five MPs were elected today in HirShabelle state bringing to a total of 31 the number of legislators elected in the new state.

Out of the five, three women Farhiyo Mohamud Dhaqane, Muna Hasan Shibis and Dahabo Suusow Mohamud were elected. This adds up the number of female lawmakers from HirShabelle state to 8 while the remaining 23 seats are taken up by men.

President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud’s fiercest critic Godah Barre made a come to the August House breaking a trend of the President’s men securing an easy return.

Only five seats are yet to be filled before Lower House elections close in the country’s newest state.

So far, 192 MPs out of the 275 have been elected. Somaliland is yet to start Upper and Lower House elections adding to the bulk of the 83 remaining seats for the Lower House and 11 for the Upper House.

The following is a breakdown so far:

  • Galmudug 28
  • HirShabelle-31
  • Jubbland- 43
  • South West 65
  • Puntland 23
  • Banaadir-2



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *