Somali electoral body to register candidates for 3 federal vacant seats within this week

Chairperson of the Somali independent electoral commission (IEC) Halima Ismail Ibrahim speaking today to the media in Mogadishu. Photo credit Goobjoog Media Group.

Somali independent electoral commission (IEC) today announced the time to register candidates for 3 vacant federal seats between  31st January to 5th February 2018 barely within six days starting from today.

Chairperson Halim Ismail Ibrahim expressed her request regarding the particulars  of the candidates for the 3 federal vacant seats and their respective tribal delegates.

The vacant seats are in Jubbaland, Galmudug and HirShabelle regional federal members states.

The political seats were made vacant by federal minister Abass Abdullahi Siraj, Bootan Isse Aalin and Said Hassan Gedi whom all passed away under different circumstances.

Four days ago, the electoral body held its first post president Farmajo’s election in Jowhar town, Hirshabelle state after it was vacated by MP Mohamed Ali Sanbalolshe when he was appointed as head of NISA. He lost the seat to Noor Iidow Belye.

Goobjoog News

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *