Southwest Parliament Passes Law on Local Government

The Parliament members of Southwest State today passed the Law on Local Government that was forward to them by the local Interior Ministry.

The parliamentary session was presided over by Speaker Abdikadir Sharif Shekhuna Maye. Seventy four members were present. It was supported by seventy two votes where one vote remained partial and another opposed it.

This Law stipulates that the five locations in Southwest State will elect its own administration.

Finally Speaker Maye announced the Law is generally agreed upon and becomes an Act.

The Interior Ministry of Southwest State wants the local five locations namely Elbarde, Hudur, Berdale, Baidoa and Barawa to have local administrations elected by the people living in those locations.

On 11th May 2017 the Parliament of Southwest State suspended this Law and passed today after amendments were done to it.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *