UK appoints New ambassador To Somalia





Ms Harriet Mathews OBE has been appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Republic of Somalia in succession to Mr Neil Wigan, who will be transferring to another Diplomatic Service appointment. Ms Mathews will take up her appointment during June 2015.
I am delighted to have been appointed as British Ambassador to the Federal Republic of Somalia. I look forward to working to deepen the strong relationship between our two countries. The United Kingdom has been instrumental in helping to bring peace and security back to Somalia, and it is a great privilege to be able to contribute personally to this process.
List of Ambassadors of the United Kingdom to Somalia
• 1960–1961: Thomas Bromley
• 1961–1963: Lancelot Pyman
• 1963–1968: Diplomatic relations broken over the Northern Frontier District
• 1968–1970: Stephen Whitwell
• 1970–1973: James Bourn
• 1973–1976: John Shaw
• 1977–1980: Henry Brind
• 1980–1983: Michael Purcell
• 1983–1987: William Fullerton
• 1987–1989: Jeremy Varcoe
• 1989–1990: Ian McCluney

• 1991–2012: British Embassy in Mogadishu evacuated 6 January 1991 after collapse of Siad Barre administration and start of the civil war; relations maintained through the UK diplomatic office in Nairobi
• 2012–2013: Matt Baugh
• 2013–2015 march: Neil Wigan
• 2015 march–present: Ms Harriet Mathews OBE


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *